Minnesota is surrounded by some of the most beautiful lakes which makes it the best destination for fishing. The waterways are blessed with abundant fish because of the collaborative efforts of the fisheries department, state biologists, and others concerned to preserve the “Land of 10,000 Lakes”-Minnesota. As a citizen we must fish responsibly and protect the natural resources by reading up the Minnesota fishing laws and getting a license.
- 1 Regulations to follow:
- 2 Inland Water Species, Season, and Bag Limits
- 3 License Requirements
- 4 Who doesn’t require a fishing license?
- 5 Where can I get a fishing license?
- 6 Types of Fishing License in Minnesota:
- 7 How much do I need to pay to get a fishing license in Minnesota?
- 8 FAQ:
- 9 Final Verdict:
Regulations to follow:
- It’s permitted to enter any public water access stated on the DNR website
- Anyone can enter any public land or roads that border the water body
- It is prohibited to reach the surface of the water through private land without permission from the landowner.
- Trespassing any private land can cost up to $3,000 and your license being revoked or taken away
- You should ask for landlords’ permission if you are in doubt when trespassing a private land
- Do not trespass any licensed private agricultural land to gain access to the water. It will be violating both fishing law and a trespassing law.
Inland Water Species, Season, and Bag Limits
Walleye and Sauger
Period: 5/15/21 – 2/27/22
Possession: 6 in total permittable. Only 1 Walleye can be over 20”
Period: 9/13/21 – 2/27/22
Possession: Daily possession limit 6
9/13/21 – 2/27/22
20 daily and 40 in procession
2; only 1 over 40”
11/15/21 – 2/27/22
Darkhouse spearing: 2; Only 1 over 26”
5/15/21 – 2/27/22
Angling 10; Limited to 2 over 26”
11/15/21 – 2/27/22
Darkhouse spearing: 10; Only 1 over 26” and 1 between 22-26
5/15/21 – 2/27/22
Angling: 2 (Minimum size 24″)
11/15/21 – 2/27/22
Darkhouse spearing: 2; Min. 24”
6/5/21 – 12/1/21
1, No less than 54”
Residents aged 16 to 89 must have a fishing license to legally fish in Minnesota. To be a resident, a person has to reside for 16 years or longer in Minnesota. It is required to show proof of residency, driver’s license, or an identity card to purchase a license. It is compulsory to carry the license along when moving to any fishing places.
Non-residents must have a valid license except those children aged under 15; whose parent or guardian is licensed.
Who doesn’t require a fishing license?
- Residents who are under 16 and over 90 years
- Residents of Minnesota who are in the U.S. Armed Forces, stationed outside the state, and visiting home. It is a must to have your leave paper when setting out for fishing.
- Residents who have served outside the US in federal active service for the previous 24 months and not on duty now. (Discharge papers is required when fishing)
- Residents who possess a nursing or boarding care home license
- An in-patient of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital
Where can I get a fishing license?
It’s no hassle to get your fishing license done in Minnesota. You can either collect it in person, online, or by calling whichever seems convenient to you.
Getting License Online:
Visiting in Person:
Licensed retailers including Walmart, bait, hardware store, or tackle store sells fishing licenses near the water. You can also purchase a Minnesota fishing license from the DNR office anytime.
A Call Away:
Call this toll-free number 1-888-MN-LICEN (665-4236) MN DNR to speak to an operator who will assist you to get your fishing license done on a phone call.
Types of Fishing License in Minnesota:
- Individual Angling: If you are single this license id for you
- Combination Angling: Married couples who love to fish together
- Individual Sport: A single person who want to hunt small game and fish
- Combination Sports: Permits one person to hunt and the other individual to fish only
- Non-resident Angling: Non-residents of Minnesota need to purchase this license for fishing
How much do I need to pay to get a fishing license in Minnesota?
Family Annual License
Married Annual License
Annual Conservation License
When can I go fishing in Minnesota?
You just need a license to go fishing in Minnesota now. It is permitted to take crappie, catfish, sunfish, perch, and bullhead at all seasons. However, check out the specific regulations for off-season fish and their daily possession limit.
Can I fish in Minnesota without a license?
Yes, residents of Minnesota can go for ice fishing and fish in most state parks without a license. Fishing from shore, through ice, or from a boat is acceptable on designated lakes if a person doesn’t have a license. Also, in places where a trout stamp isn’t required a Minnesota resident can fish without a license.
Am I allowed to fish at night in Minnesota?
You can catch a Walleye at midnight on Saturday (1 minute after 12:59 p.m. Friday). It is limited to 6 fish in possession and no more than 1 can be over 20 inches.
Fishing can only be fun and entertaining when the state-designed rules and regulations are not violated. It is compulsory to get a fishing license for an angler who wants to experience the richly populated waterways of Minnesota on a fishing trip. We recommend reading the entire fishing regulations of Minnesota on this website for a better understanding and additional information.